Astrotheme Review By Ann Clark

January 11, 2009 signshow
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

astrotheme1

I’ve been asked by the Sign Show to review my 5 top astrology sites, mentioning how I use them and what makes them unique. Here goes then, at the rate of one per week, in no particular order, I’ll begin with Astrotheme.   http://www.astrotheme.com

There is so much information at Astrotheme, it’s hard to know where to start. It’s a veritable astro-banquet! The website is French-based and available in both English and French language.
What makes Astrotheme unique, for me, is the scope of their vast astrology data base, and the way it has been pulled together in so many formats to highlight different astrological factors.
Membership is optional and free. I joined a long time ago, but never need to log in. The information I use is available to all. For personalized service, membership is necessary. As a member you can input your birth data and receive details of your transits, forecasts, and many other goodies. There are sections on affinity, synastry, astro-twins, and lots of other sidelights. You can even assess your compatibility with your favorite celebrity!
I visit the site regularly to find times of birth of the people I write about in my blog. There are around 35,000 famous people listed, with their astrological data presented, dissected and collated in several ways . For instance, as well as straightforward birth data, natal chart, biography and horoscope interpretation, the data is collated in another part of the site, to provide lists of personalities with specific dominant signs, planets or houses; hemispheres, polarity, etc. You can therefore search for celebrities who have, for example, Jupiter dominant, or Scorpio dominant.
If, like me, you don’t appreciate Astrotheme’s French-style charts, there are clear lists of planetary and house positions at the end of each individual horoscope interpretation. The unfamiliar French chart is my main criticism of this site, but as the site is French-based,  I guess it’s something we have to accept. I don’t usually  read the interpretations nor their biographies, I prefer to do my own research and interpretation. For a viewer without their own astro software, or in depth knowledge though, all the information on each well-known figure is handily presented there, in one place.
I discovered one other drawback while visiting the site as I was drafting this piece. I couldn’t find one of my favourite sections – the one offering groups of personalities with a sign or planet dominant. I had to go to Google and type in “Aries Dominant Astrotheme” to get me into the relevant section. Later I found the relevant link at the foot of the home page, in tiny font.  Astrotheme could use a nice clear detailed site map, using one whole page. It would be a helpful enhancement for new users and regulars alike. In my searchings I did stumble upon some sections I’d never seen before!  So, in the absence of an all-encompassing site map, it’s worth spending time on the site investigating all nooks and crannies.
Astrotheme is arguably the most comprehensive astrological website on the Internet,  some other sites I’ll  review later are  in the running for that title too.

Entry Filed under: Reviews

One Comment Add your own


Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

January 2009
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts